LULU

“Time flies”….they say “when you are having fun”…This is so true as I still sit now and think back on the first day we said hello…It was a Saturday afternoon…I still remember it so clear because it feels like yesterday. I still remember the red jacket you wore and the brown winter boots. I was sitting at my station starring at my computer screen trying to concentrate and work with little success. I remember the first words you uttered…“hello, my name is Lulu I thought I should introduce myself to you.”

That was how we met and that was the beginning of what blossomed into one of the best friendship I ever had. I believe you were God’s answer to my prayers….it was a difficult time for me then. God knew I needed a friend and He gave me even more…God not only gave me a friend but a friend and a sister…wrapped in one beautiful parcel called Lulu.

ImageIt is a year now since that day and again I find myself sitting at the same station. It is a Monday today but it feels like a Saturday…maybe because it is a public holiday and there are few people around like is the case in weekends. Again I am starring at my computer screen and trying hard to concentrate and do just one thing. I am secretly wishing you would walk up to me and say hi again but I know this won’t happen. Beside me are your packages which I am preparing to post to you.

I sit today one year after and it is mixed feelings. I am Sad that you are not here and won’t be here again. I am also happy because you had to leave because the mission has been accomplished. You had finished your 3 year research and had to return to those 3 lovely boys of yoursJ. I miss you here but I know you should be there with them.

I thought I should take out a few minutes and put down my feelings and appreciation for you. My life won’t have been the same without you this past year. You gave me the opportunity to grow and develop in all aspect of my life. You were my friend, study partner, prayer partner, special advisor, advocate, confidante and sister. For this I remain eternally grateful to you..

This moment I will take to say my favorite Irish prayer and blessing for you my dear friend….

“May God give you…
For every storm, a rainbow,
For every tear, a smile,
For every care, a promise,
And a blessing in each trial.
For every problem life sends,
A faithful friend to share,
For every sigh, a sweet song,
And an answer for each prayer.”

“May the road rise up to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face;
the rains fall soft upon your fields and until we meet again,
may God hold you in the palm of His hand.”

So my friend, till we meet again…in the near future I hope (I am already saving for my ticket to Dar es salaam) 🙂 , The Lord keep you and your family save.

Leave a Reply

