Walk me down the Aisle series. Episode 2 It’s Valentine again!! – 63 Days!

Happy Valentine friends, and welcome to the second episode of this series. I was thinking on what to write on that will speak the language of the day as well as address one of the issues I have encountered and experienced in the course of my relationship.

In my search, my mind went back to several months ago, perhaps over a year now. I remembered a post I saw on facebook and how it caught my attention…I could not remember exactly the words used so I did what have become like a habit of mine lately -I googled the bit of phrase I could remember from the post and waalaah!! It appeared. I read it again and still chuckled at the realisation that several months after, the quote still hard the same effect on me.

The quote is by Eric S. Gray “Whatever you give a woman, she will make greater. If you give her sperm, she’ll give you a baby. If you give her a house, she’ll give you a home. If you give her groceries, she’ll give you a meal. If you give her a smile, she’ll give you her heart. She multiplies and enlarges what is given to her. So if you give her any crap, be ready to receive a ton of shit! ”
I read it again and think…so much truth in so few words!

So as I celebrate Valentine this year beside the woman who I have invested little in yet have been reaping tons and tons of goodness, I take time to reflect in the blessing that she is to me and make time to appreciate her even more. But more than that, I also will look inwards and ask myself what can I do better than I am doing now? How can I invest in her even more?

So while I celebrate what is going to be my last valentine day as a bachelor, I continue my count down to the big day. As at today, we are 90,720 minutes away…it other words 1512 hours or 63 days! It is exciting and daunting at the same time (that’s how the heart of a man works), I am happy yet worried, I am looking forward to that day and 9 weeks doesn’t seem such a long time to wait especially considering all I have to get done between today and that day.

I will be spending most of today with Tendai. I however don’t think the day is more special than the rest. I also don’t think it is a day for two people. Love is a universal language and this day should be such, celebrating love and that includes with loved ones and also with everyone out there…this should not just be an activity of one day…it should be our live long calling.Today should be a reminder of that calling on everyone.

This day should remind us of our responsibility to make the world a better place, to show some love on a daily not just one day.

2 thoughts on “Walk me down the Aisle series. Episode 2 It’s Valentine again!! – 63 Days!”

  1. This is such a simple but lovely post! That quote has so much truth in it, and it gladdens my heart to know that you are with someone who not only loves you, but inspires you to want to be a better person and not just for the both of you but for the whole world as well. You sound quite calm for a man getting married in less than 63 days now! I’m sure everything will be alright. Congratulations again dear friend!
    Looking forward to the following posts :).

    1. Thank you!! 🙂 Well…maybe I am just doing a good job of suppressing my anxiety…not sure how long I can remain cool though…hehehe.
      Thanks for the kind words too friend….just hang around for more will come as we count down…

Leave a comment

patter

research education, academic writing, public engagement, funding, other eccentricities.

And Cancer Interrupted!

Living despite cancer's claws...

Gambia Beat Blog

A Nation's Heart Beat

Frantecologist

Soil | ecology | opinion | writing

Life Through The Disability Lens

Award Winning Blogger Changing The Perception Of Disability One Reader At A Time.

rosslester.com

Simple thoughts on faith, church and discipleship

zealthinks

Welcome to the Massive Amphitheater that's called 'my mind' ...Thoughts, whispers and rantings of Zeal and Chris (Zeal's alter ego)

Willie's View

Promotes factual reporting

a subtle knife

reflections on myth, politics, and desire

Uncovering Intimacy

Answering questions about married sexuality and intimacy

Between Thorn Bushes and Claws

Wildlife researchers blogging from the field, sharing own experiences and other scientists results.

Confessions of a Rambling Red

A blog about tactics and Liverpool FC.

Stuff my dog taught me

and stuff I figured out on my own

Beegeagle's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Bianca Mazziotti's Blog

Poetry, Thoughts and Stories

Mia Musings

Experiences of an expat and her Afrikaner pooch

A Traveler's Tale

photography and travel interests, places, and things

Clothed with Thunder

They call it foolishness. We call it faith. Stories and so on, for God's glory.